Cyprus travel guide

Cyprus Travel Guide

A Quick Intro to Cyprus

Positioned in a strategic location in the Eastern Mediterranean, Cyprus has been occupied by many different powers over the centuries, including the Egyptians, the Romans, the Venetians and the Ottomans.

Today the country is actually divided into two distinct parts: the south and west of Cyprus (about 59% of the islands area) is in control of the Republic of Cyprus, while the north (about 36% of the island’s area) is occupied by Turkey.

The occupation of northern Cyprus was the result of many years of fighting between the Greek Cypriots and Turkish Cypriots over the future of the country. In 1974 Turkey invaded and captured the north, declaring a separate Turkish state. The occupation is viewed as illegal under international law and isn’t recognized by the international community.

While you can cross the border into northern Cyprus, most tourists tend to stick to the south. Towns such as Paphos, Limassol and Larnaca are all brimming with hotels, restaurants, bars and shops. Meanwhile resorts such as Protaras, Coral Bay and Ayia Napa are home to some lovely sandy beaches and turquoise blue waters.

If you get bored of tanning on the beach, head inland to the capital city of Nicosia (Lefkosia), which holds the title of being the world’s only divided capital. Browse the museums, purchase some lace embroidery, walk the pedestrian Ledra Street and enjoy in a coffee in one of the city’s many cafes. You can also walk along the Green Line (the UN Buffer Zone) which splits the city in two.

Lefkara, Cyprus

Cyprus Blog Posts

Scroll to Top