UAE Travel Guide

UAE Travel Guide

A Quick Intro to the UAE

Many people get confused between Dubai and the UAE. The UAE, short for United Arab Emirates, is a country that consists of a federation of seven emirates: Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Ajman, Fujairah, Ras Al Khaimah, Sharjah and Umm Al Quwain.

The country sits on the east of the Arabian Peninsula, sharing borders with Oman and Saudi Arabia. It also has coastline on both the Gulf of Oman and the Persian Gulf.

Most visitors to the UAE either visit Abu Dhabi (the capital) or Dubai. Abu Dhabi is a modern city known for its towering skyscrapers and enormous shopping malls.

The city’s most popular attraction is the elaborate Sheikh Zayed Grand Mosque, which features marbled halls, reflective pools, gold-plated Swarovski chandeliers and a beautiful mosaic-covered courtyard. The mosque’s prayer hall features the largest hand-woven carpetĀ in the world, which was designed and constructed by a team of artists from around the world.

While Dubai may not be the country’s capital, it’s the most populated city in the UAE. Dubai boasts the world’s tallest building – the Burj Khalifa – plus tons of other attractions, including Dubai Marina, the Burj Al Arab and Dubai Mall. Before you leave make sure you experience a jeep safari in the desert – this was one of the highlights of my trip! For more info, check out my 3-day Dubai itinerary.

Camels on the beach in Dubai

UAE Blog Posts

Scroll to Top